Skip to Content
Sustainability and the Environment

Sustainability and the Environment

Ecological Vegetation Classes

Ecological Vegetation Classifications/Classes (EVCs) are groupings of vegetation communities based on floristic, structural, and ecological features. Within Victoria there are approximately 300 EVCs.

The City of Greater Dandenong has more than 10 known EVCs represented in its parks and bushland reserves, including:

  • Plains Grassy Wetland (EVC 123)
  • Plains Grassy Woodland (EVC 55)
  • Floodplain Riparian Woodland (EVC 56)
  • Damp Sands Herbrich Woodland (EVC 3)
  • Heathy Woodland (EVC 48)
  • Grassy Woodland (EVC 175)
  • Swamp Scrub (EVC 53)

Visit the Department of Sustainability and Environment website for more information on EVCs.