Skip to Content

Local Government Mayoral Taskforce Supporting People Seeking Asylum

Victorain Local Government Mayoral Taskforce

Changes by the Federal Government to the SRSS (Status Resolution Support Services) program are concerning many Councils as it will cut all income and case management support of many people seeking asylum and dramatically increase the demand for material aid resources at the local municipality level. This action will likely leave many people destitute and requests for places to live, money for clothes, food and medicine, will only escalate and there will likely be an impact on social cohesion.  Within Victoria alone, the number at risk from these changes is 5,863. 

Following the SRSS Mayoral Roundtable held in Dandenong on Tuesday 31 July to discuss joint advocacy against these changes as well as practical responses a group of Victorian Councils has now formed the Local Government Mayoral Taskforce Supporting People Seeking Asylum. The Taskforce is chaired by the City of Greater Dandenong Mayor, Cr Jim Memeti.

Taskforce purpose:

Coordination of joint state-wide advocacy by Councils and sharing resources and practical responses by communities to the issues caused by the SRSS cuts. 

The following Councils are part of the Local Government Mayoral Taskforce Supporting People Seeking Asylum:

Councils involved as Executive Members

Executive Members meet monthly and act as a steering group for the Taskforce.

  • Brimbank City Council (VIC)
  • City of Darebin (VIC)
  • City of Greater Dandenong (VIC)
  • City of Hume (VIC)
  • City of Monash (VIC)
  • Hobsons Bay City Council (VIC)
  • Moreland City Council (VIC)
  • Yarra City Council (VIC)

Councils involved as General Members

General Members get consulted on Taskforce direction, take an active role in Taskforce activities and contribute resources to the Taskforce.

  • Banyule City Council (VIC)
  • Cardinia Shire Council (VIC)
  • City of Ballarat (VIC)
  • City of Canterbury Bankstown (NSW)
  • City of Greater Bendigo (VIC)
  • City of Port Phillip (VIC)
  • City of Wagga Wagga (NSW)
  • City of Whittlesea (VIC)
  • Hawkesbury City Council (NSW)
  • Inner West Council (NSW)
  • Leeton Shire Council (NSW)
  • Maribynong City Council (VIC)
  • Melbourne City Council (VIC)
  • Moonee Valley City Council (VIC)
  • Randwick Council (NSW)
  • Wyndham City Council (VIC)

Council involved as Supporters 

Supporter Councils are informed on Taskforce direction, and receive material to use to promote the Back Your Neighbor Campaign.

  • Bass Coast Shire Council (VIC)
  • City of Greater Geelong (VIC)
  • Macedon Ranges Shire Council (VIC)
  • Maroondah City Council (VIC) 
  • Mornington Peninsula Shire (VIC)
  • Queenscliffe Borough Council (VIC)
  • Wellington Shire Council (VIC)
  • City of Whitehorse (VIC)


Back Your Neighbour Campaign

The Back Your Neighbour Campaign, which was launched on 3 December 2018, has seen 32 Councils band together to ensure people who have fled persecution do not end up suffering homelessness or destitution as a result of the Federal Government cuts. This campaign symbolises a unified approach with Councils from NSW and Victoria involved together with community ambassadors and advocates to have financial and support services reinstated for asylum seekers.

The objectives of the Back Your Neighbour campaign are for the:

  • Federal Government to ensure a liveable income for those awaiting the decision on their claim for asylum.
  • State and Territory Goverments to follow suit with the Victorian and Queensland Governments in providing interim funding to local services who are supporting individuals and families put at risk by the SRSS cuts.
  • The Federal Government to provide adequate resources to fairly expedite the ‘legacy caseload’ of people seeking asylum so that their status is fully resolved.

For more information visit or to join the campaign. 


Important documents

Terms of Reference

Strategic Priorities - Local Government Mayoral Taskforce (PDF - 471KB)


Minutes of Executive No.1 - Monday 20 August 2018

Minutes of Executive No.2 - Wednesday 19 September 2018

Minutes of Executive No.3 - Wednesday 10 October 2018

Minutes of Executive No.4 - Wednesday 31 October 2018

Minutes of Executive No.5 - Wednesday 5 December 2018

Minutes of Executive No.6 - Wednesday 16 January 2019

Minutes of Executive No.7 - Wednesday 13 February 2019 

Minutes of Executive No.8 - Wednesday 13 March 2019

Minutes of Executive No.9 - Wednesday 17 April 2019

Minutes of Executive No.10 - Wednesday 22 May 2019

Minutes of Executive No.11 - Wednesday 26 June 2019

Minutes of Executive No.12 - Wednesday 12 August 2019

Minutes of Executive No.13 - Wednesday 25 September 2019

Minutes of Executive No.14 - Wednesday 4 December 2019

Minutes of Executive No.15 - Wednesday 18 March 2020

If your Council are interested in joining the Taskforce, or just want further information please contact Peter Johnstone, Coordinator, Community Development, City of Greater Dandenong at