Skip to Content

New Single Member Wards introduced in Greater Dandenong

15 July 2020

Greater Dandenong Council will move to single member wards in the lead up to Victorian Local Government elections this October.

The decision follows reforms to the electoral representation framework, which were introduced as part of the Local Government Act 2020.

Greater Dandenong Mayor Councillor Jim Memeti said the change would see Greater Dandenong move to 11 wards from 4.

He said Paperbark Ward, Silverleaf Ward, Lightwood Ward and Red Gum Ward would be no more.

“This significant change will impact Council’s electoral structure, our ward boundaries and see the introduction of new ward names,” Mayor Memeti said.

“Up until now multiple councillors have represented each ward.”

“From October this will change, and our 11 elected representatives will each represent their own ward.”

The new ward names are Springvale Central Ward, Springvale South Ward, Springvale North Ward, Noble Park North Ward, Noble Park Ward, Dandenong North Ward, Dandenong Ward, Yarraman Ward, Cleeland Ward, Keysborough Ward and Keysborough South Ward.

The changes to ward boundaries and names will come into effect at the general council elections scheduled for Saturday 24 October this year.

Please note: This does not mean that your address or suburb changes in any way.

New wards 2020 Map

Find News